Shortlist: 2019 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe are proud to announce the shortlisted works that will compete in the 2019 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award.

The Jury – Dorte Mandrup, George Arbid, Angelika Fitz, Ștefan Ghenciulescu, Kamiel Klaasse, María Langarita and Frank McDonald – met over three days in Barcelona to discuss the most relevant challenges that European contemporary society and its architecture are facing.

383 works were nominated for the award and the expert Jury drew up the final shortlist. The 40 shortlisted works included 7 for office space, industrial or mixed use developments:

House of Music InnsbruckMixed useInnsbruckErich Strolz, Dietrich | Untertrifaller Architekten
Ryhove Urban FactoryIndustrialGhentTrans
Terracehouse BerlinMixed useBerlinBrandlhuber+ Emde, Burlon, Muck Petzet Architekten
Prada productive headquarterIndustryArezzoCanali associati s.r.l.
Restoration, refurbishment of the headquarters of the order of architects of Romania. Bucharest branchOfficeBucharestSTARH – Birou de arhitectura (Florian & Iulia Stanciu)
Adaptation of the former factory MlynicaMixed useBratislavaGutGut
Avatar photo
Monique Chambers

Monique started succeed in 2018 and indulge in 2011. She has published two apps; Indulge Me GIFT and Indulge Me FOOD and volume 1 of The Artists Directory - Malta, as well as an audio book, Table 7. A PR and Marketing professional by trade with a Masters in Entrepreneurship, Monique's passion is to promote local talent and Malta in general.